Sunday July 24, 2022

Sri Lanka win toss and bat in second Test against Pakistan

Sri Lanka win toss and bat in second Test against Pakistan

Sri Lanka's Oshada Fernando (left) plays a shot in Galle on Sunday. AFP

Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat in the second Test against Pakistan at the Galle International Stadium on Sunday.

The hosts brought in fast bowler Asitha Fernando in place of Kasun Rajitha while 19-year-old Dunith Wellalage is making his debut in place of Maheesh Theekshana. Wellalage is a left-arm finger spinner and a handy lower order batsman.


Angelo Mathews to become only sixth Sri Lankan to reach 100 Tests

English cricketer hits 410 for highest score this century

Pakistan were forced to leave out quick Shaheen Afridi after he hurt his knee while diving on the field during the first test. His place has been taken by left-arm orthodox spinner Nauman Ali as the pitch is expected to assist spin as it did in the first test. The tourists also dropped former captain Azhar Ali and brought in Fawad Alam.

Sri Lanka win toss and bat in second Test against Pakistan
Pakistan’s Agha Salman (second right) celebrates with teammates as Sri Lanka's Kusal Mendis (right) in Galle. AFP

Former Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews is featuring in his 100th Test match.

Pakistan lead the two-match series 1-0 having chased down a record 342 run target in the last session of the final day of the first test here in Galle earlier in the week.

The second test was scheduled for Colombo but was shifted to the southern coastal town due to political unrest in the capital.


Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Prabath Jayasuriya, Dunith Wellalage.

Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Fawad Alam, Agha Salman, Mohammad Nawaz, Nauman Ali, Hasan Ali, Yasir Shah, Naseem Shah.

Umpires: Rod Tucker, Australia, and Kumar Dharmasena, Sri Lanka.

Third Umpire: Marais Erasmus, South Africa. Match Referee: Jeff Crowe, New Zealand.

Associated Press

← Back>